Support and follow Total Soccer News
Support Total Soccer News Subscribe to Total Soccer News

Cavalry FC keeper and coach pick up Canadian Premier League awards


Cavalry FC goalkeeper Marco Carducci and head coach Tommy Wheeldon Jr. picked up Canadian Premier League end-of-year awards Tuesday.

23-year-old Carducci earned the Golden Glove Award as the league’s top keeper and won the 2019 Volkswagen Premier Performer season-long competition, which is based on match data and statistics.

Who was your Cavalry FC player of the year?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Carducci will receive a new 2019 Volkswagen Jetta CGI for being the 2019 Volkswagen Premier Performer.

“A modern-day goalkeeper”

“Marco has had an exceptional season and a very worthy recipient of the Golden Glove Award,” said Cavalry FC head coach Tommy Wheeldon Jr., via a club statement Tuesday. “He was pivotal in our spring and fall season titles, setting a record of shut outs and earning himself a call up to the Canadian National team as further reward of his performances.

“He is very much a modern-day goalkeeper that is calm under chaos and has the ability to start attacks as well as prevent opponents. Credit to him and his GK coach Jordan Santiago for the work they’ve done this season.”

Wheeldon Jr. earns Coach of Year Award

Cavalry FC’s manager also earned recognition Tuesday, picking up the Coach of the Year Award.

Wheeldon Jr. led the Cavs to the Spring and Fall Season titles, to the CPL Finals and to the semifinals of the Canadian Championship.

“Tommy has shown remarkable leadership since being announced as the coach and general manager of Cavalry FC,” said Cavalry FC president and C.O.O. Ian Allison in a statement Tuesday. “In a short time, he has created a culture, both on and off the field of play, that has led to our early success.

“He inspires the players, and everyone in our organization, to bring their very best every day.”

Forge FC’s 21-year-old Tristan Borges earned the CPL Player of the Year Award as well as the Best Canadian Under-21 Player Award.

The winners were selected by a judging panel comprised of media writers and reporters from across Canada.


About Author


Leave A Reply